Home News > 18 Nov 2021

Daystar University graduates over 1,400 at 44th graduation ceremony

44th Graduation Ceremony 2021

On 12th November 2021, Daystar University awarded diplomas and conferred degrees to more than 1,400 graduands during its 44th graduation ceremony held at the Main Campus Athi River.

During the ceremony, the University also awarded the University Chancellor, Dr. Florence Muindi, a Doctor of Humane Letters honoris causa (DHumLitt, h.c.), in recognition of her global work which has positively impacted more than a million people in 17 countries.

In her acceptance speech, Dr. Muindi dedicated her honorary degree to the many vulnerable people that her organization, Life in Abundance, has served through through wholistic ministry and community transformation.

The Chief Guest for the 44th graduation Dr. Alan Cureton, President of the University of Northwestern in St. Paul Minnesota, USA. The University of Northwestern has this year supported Daystar University to equip and upgrade it Communication Studios and Shine FM Radio Station.

Dr. Cureton congratulated the graduands for successfully completing their studies. “You chose a path that has given you the foundation of a biblical worldview, with the word of God as your anchor. You are going to be the messenger for the fulfillment of the great commission,” said Dr. Cureton in his address to the graduands of 2021.

Dr. Cureton further lauded the Vice-chancellor Prof. Laban P. Ayiro for the great work he was doing, saying that Daystar University had become a great attraction thanks to his leadership.

On his part, Prof. Ayiro urged the graduands to be courageous and resilient, assuring them that their education will open doors to a world of opportunities.

 “Daystar University is challenging itself and putting itself on an altar so that the government, private sector and Kenyans can trust us with the education of their children,” said Prof. Ayiro.

 “I want you to have meaningful presence and show what Daystar has given you. Be open minded and change the mindset of those around you. Take your position in the society and choose to be unrealistic,” he said. He further encouraged the graduands to rise as stars and be ambassadors of Daystar University.

 The Council Chair, Prof. Henry Thairu, lauded students and lecturers for swiftly embracing online learning in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

 “This graduation marks your commitment to serve God where he calls you. Be the light of this world that is groping in darkness. Shine your brightest with God’s help,” he urged the graduands.

 Prof. Thairu also thanked the VC for his leadership which has made the University a great attraction to the world.

 The Permanent Secretary in the State Department for University Education and Research, Amb. Simon Nabukwesi was represented by Mr. Fredrick Ndambuki. In his remarks, Mr. Ndambuki reiterated the satisfaction of the Ministry with growth witnessed in the higher education sector.

 “As a government, a lot of emphasis is being laid on human development through education,” he said, noting that Daystar University graduates are not onlyequipped with knowledge but also grounded in the word of God, enabling them to make meanigful contributions in society.

 Speaking on behalf of the graduands, Father Dr. Don Bosco expressed gratitude to the University management for their leadership.

 “Daystar has put us on the right track,” he said, noting that the journey has been exciting and eye opening. He gave an account of his fellow students whose lives have been changed by being part of Daystar.

  The ceremony was also graced by Members of University Company (Trustees), University Council Members, University Senate and Management, Faculty, Diplomats, Alumni Board and members of the Class of 2001, representatives of other universities, representatives of corporate companies that work with the University, and graduands.

 Sixteen nationalities that graduated in this year’s ceremony include Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, South Sudan, Ethiopia, Malawi, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Nigeria, Cameroon, Siera Leone, Liberia, Zambia, and USA.